Middle Grade

Books in this category are recommended for children ages 8 to 12, unless otherwise noted.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Kindred Souls (Hardcover)

$14.99
ISBN-13: 9780060522971
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books, 2/2012
A Cindy Pick

The Apothecary (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780399256271
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Putnam Juvenile, 10/2011

It's 1952 and the Scott family has just moved from Los Angeles to London. Here, fourteen-year-old Janie meets a mysterious apothecary and his son, Benjamin Burrows - a fascinating boy who's not afraid to stand up to authority and dreams of becoming a spy. When Benjamin's father is kidnapped, Janie and Benjamin must uncover the secrets of the apothecary's sacred book, the Pharmacopoeia, in order to find him, all while keeping it out of the hands of their enemies - Russian spies in possession of nuclear weapons. Discovering and testing potions they never believed could exist, Janie and Benjamin embark on a dangerous race to save the apothecary and prevent impending disaster.

Together with Ian Schoenherr's breathtaking illustrations, this is a truly stunning package from cover to cover. Recommended for ages 10 and up.

Watch the exciting trailer from Penguin Young Readers:

A Cindy Pick


Liesl & Po (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780062014511
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: HarperCollins, 10/2011

Liesl lives in a tiny attic bedroom, locked away by her cruel stepmother. Her only friends are the shadows and the mice—until one night a ghost appears from the darkness. It is Po, who comes from the Other Side. Both Liesl and Po are lonely, but together they are less alone. That same night, an alchemist's apprentice, Will, bungles an important delivery. He accidentally switches a box containing the most powerful magic in the world with one containing something decidedly less remarkable. Will's mistake has tremendous consequences for Liesl and Po, and it draws the three of them together on an extraordinary journey.

A Cindy Pick


Secrets at Sea (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780803734555
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Dial, 10/2011

Funny, adventurous and utterly charming! Helena and her mouse siblings have always lived secret lives among humans. And the mice are far more intelligent! This fun story about small creatures who stow away on a ship bound for England will appeal to fans of Tale of Despereaux or The Borrowers.

SIGNED copies in our store now!!

A Cindy and Joanne Pick!


Wonder (Hardcover)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2/2012

Touching and inspiring, this straightforward tale about Auggie, a boy whose face is "different," might make you cry a little, but it will definitely make you cheer. Homeschooled until the age of 10, he's now offered the chance to go to a prep school a few blocks from his New York City home. Will he be able to handle the stares and the furtive looks and whispers? Will he make friends?

Part One is told in first person by Auggie as he adjusts to his new school. Part Two is told by the other kids in his life, which adds new layers of meaning to his story.

This compelling book is sure to win a lot of awards. Read it now!

A Joanne pick.


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061992254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: HarperCollins, 1/2012

This reads like a modern-day fable, reminiscent of animal stories by Kate DiCamillo and Kathi Appelt.

Written in deceptively simple prose, THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN is based on the true story of a silverback gorilla who lived in a cage in a shopping mall for many years. Ivan himself tells his heartbreaking story and movingly describes his longing for freedom and family.

A Joanne pick


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061963131
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: HarperCollins, 1/2012

A thoroughly original fantasy, mystery, and horror novel rolled into one impressive book.

Maya and her perfect little brother James move to Paris with their father, a chemist, and their mother, a cancer survivor. There, Maya meets a mysterious old uncle Henri and discovers the Cabinet of Earths. It seems to hold the secret of immortality and it wants Maya to be its next Keeper.

A Joanne pick.


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780375868191
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers, 1/2012
A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure! An Ann Marie pick

Dead End in Norvelt (Hardcover)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780374379933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Macmillan Young Listeners, 9/2011

Winner of the 2012 Newbery Medal! Plenty of copies in our store now.

An Ann Marie Pick


Wonderstruck (Hardcover)

$29.99
ISBN-13: 9780545027892
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Scholastic Press, 9/2011
Brian Selznick talks about WONDERSTRUCK is this video:

A Cindy and Ann Marie pick


May B. (Hardcover)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9781582463933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Schwartz & Wade, 1/2012

This lovely novel-in-verse, set in the 1880s, will appeal to LITTLE HOUSE fans and anyone who enjoys a good wintry read.

Mavis Betterly has trouble reading (today we call it dyslexia) and decides to quit school. She can cook and clean so her parents hire her out to a newlywed couple fifteen miles away.  But when a tragedy leaves May completely alone with a blizzard on the way, she has to call on all her strength and courage to survive.

May is a wonderful character, and the writing is spare and unemotional. 

Not a fan of verse novels? Try it and see. After the first three pages, I'll bet you've forgotten you're reading verse.

A Joanne pick

Watch the author's own book trailer!


Never Say Genius (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061827679
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Harper, 1/2012

Sequel to the hilarious Genius Files.

An Ann Marie Pick.


$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780385734912
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Wendy Lamb Books, 1/2012

At last! Christopher Paul Curtis, the Newbery-winning author of BUD, NOT BUDDY and THE WATSONS GO TO BIRMINGHAM, has written a novel about a girl!

The irrepressible Deza Malone lives in Gary, Indiana in 1936. Times are hard. But the Malone family sticks together. Then Father goes missing...

Deza's story will linger long after you finish reading it.  The included author note explains the origins of this novel, a companion but not a sequel to BUD, NOT BUDDY.

A Joanne pick


Winterling (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061921032
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: HarperCollins, 1/2012

With her boundless curiosity and wild spirit, Fer has always felt that she doesn't belong. Not when the forest is calling to her, when the rush of wind through branches feels more real than school or the quiet farms near her house. Then she saves an injured creature -- he looks like a boy, but he's really something else. He knows who Fer truly is, and invites her through the Way, a passage to a strange, dangerous land.

Fer feels an instant attachment to this realm, where magic is real and oaths forge bonds stronger than iron. But a powerful huntress named the MÓr rules here, and Fer can sense that the land is perilously out of balance. Fer must unlock the secrets about the parents she never knew and claim her true place before the worlds on both sides of the Way descend into endless winter.

Sarah Prineas captivates in this fantasy-adventure about a girl who must find within herself the power to set right a terrible evil.

A Joanne pick 


$15.99
ISBN-13: 9781606841013
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: EgmontUSA, 1/2012
Brandon saving the Governor as the sign was just about to fall!Everything on the internet including him playing the clarinet off key! His life is ruined! But wait.... the Governor wants him to be part of her presidential campaign tour. What will happen next! -An Ann Marie Pick

Pie (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780545270113
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Scholastic Press, 10/2011

This very funny story takes place in the made-up town of Ipswitch, Pennsylvania in 1955. Alice's beloved Aunt Polly dies, leaving the recipe for her delicious pie crust to her cat, Lardo, and leaving Lardo to Alice. What follows is a comedy of errors, as everyone in Ipswitch hopes to create the next prizewinning pie. Can Alice and her new friend Charlie solve the mystery of who is trying to steal Lardo and discover the secret recipe?

You'll eat up this delectable treat of a novel.

An Ann Marie and Joanne pick.


Lights on the Nile (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061667930
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: HarperCollins, 9/2011
A Cindy Pick

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780062024688
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Balzer + Bray, 8/2011
A Cindy pick

R My Name Is Rachel (Hardcover)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780375838897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Wendy Lamb Books, 8/2011
A Cindy Pick

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780803735644
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Dial, 9/2011
An Ann Marie Pick

Hound Dog True (Hardcover)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780547558691
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Harcourt Children's Books, 9/2011

An Ann Marie and Joanne pick.


$16.95
ISBN-13: 9781419700262
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Harry N. Abrams, 9/2011
An Ann Marie Pick

The Underdogs (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780399250019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Philomel, 9/2011
Watch in exciting book trailer:

A Cindy and Ann Marie Pick


$6.99
ISBN-13: 9780312659349
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Square Fish, 8/2011
- A Staff Pick